News file/Sipa USA

Abbott issues disaster declaration for 18 flooded counties

October 16, 2018 - 6:51 pm

AUSTIN (KJCE) -- Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has issued a state disaster declaration for 18 Texas counties impacted by flooding rains.

"Texas is taking immediate action to respond to the threat of recent severe weather and flooding across the state," said Gov. Abbott. "We have made available all necessary resources to respond as quickly and effectively as possible to this disaster, and to assist those in harm’s way. I thank all our first responders and local officials on the ground in these communities for their efforts to assist fellow Texans during this dangerous event."

Counties included in the disaster declaration are: Bastrop, Burnet, Colorado, Fayette, Hood, Jim Wells, Kerr, Kimble, La Salle, Live Oak, Llano, Mason, McMullen, Nueces, Real, San Patricio, Travis, and Williamson.

Comments ()