UIL unveils 2018-20 realignment for high school sports

February 01, 2018 - 9:49 am

AUSTIN (FanstandATX) -- The University Interscholastic League has released its biennial realignment, determining which schools will play each other in district competition for the next two school years.

In the Austin area, the largest high schools - those that compete in the 6A classification - will compete in two 9-team districts. District 13-6A will feature Leander ISD's 6A schools (Vandegrift, Vista Ridge, and Leander), along with Round Rock ISD's 6A schools (Round Rock, McNeil, Stony Point, Westwood, and Cedar Ridge), and Pflugerville ISD's Hendrickson High.

District 25-6A will contain Austin ISD's 6A schools (Austin, Akins, Anderson, and Bowie), as well as perennial powers Westlake and Lake Travis along with Hays, Lehman, and Del Valle. Austin ISD's Ann Richards School will join for volleyball compeition.

For the first time, Class 5A competition in football will be split into two separate divisions based on school population. The Austin area will have three 5A districts:

  • District 11-5A Division 1: Cedar Park, Georgetown, Hutto, Rouse, Manor, Pflugerville, Connally
  • District 12-5A Division 1: Crockett, LBJ, Lanier, McCallum, Reagan, Travis, Dripping Springs, Seguin
  • District 13-5A Division 2: Bastrop, Cedar Creek, Brenham, Elgin, East View, Glenn, Marble Falls, Weiss

For other sports, the teams will compete in similar districts - but without the divisional splitting.

  • District 17-5A: Cedar Park, Glenn, Rouse, Marble Falls, Pflugerville, Connally, Weiss
  • District 18-5A: Bastrop, Cedar Creek, Elgin, Georgetown, East View, Hutto, Manor
  • District 25-5A: Crockett, LBJ, Lanier, McCallum, Reagan, Travis, Dripping Springs, Lockhart

For more coverage of the UIL Realignment, head on over to FanstandATX.com and follow FanstandATX on social media.

Comments ()